This photograph was taking in Chinatown, San Fransisco, California.  There was a festival celebrating the Chinese New Year.  Stands selling flowers and Chinese goods could be seen along all of the streets, and hundreds of people crowded around to make some favorite purchases.  In the midst of all of this celebration sat this lone musician.  The tune he played was sorrowful, and it floated above the people’s voices desperately crying for attention, but none came.  No one paid this man any notice, and his song floated harmlessly into the clouds.  I was immediately drawn to this man and his song, yet upon reflection, I gave him as little attention as everyone else at the festival.  How many times in our lives have we turned a blind eye to those who are less fortunate or who may be in need?  Perhaps, this lonely musician can be a lesson for us all.

If you like my work and would like to see more, please visit http://www.amoconno.imagekind.com for all of the photographs I currently have for sale.  I thank you in advance for any purchases you may make.

Every piece of my work on Imagekind, WordPress, and elsewhere is protected by copyright. All artwork © 2009-2010 Amy E. O’Connor ~ All Rights Reserved. No permission whatsoever to copy, appropriate, claim as one’s own or otherwise distribute, display or sell any of my work is granted to any entity or individual.

